Keep Up to Date with the Most Important News

By pressing the Subscribe button, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

60th Baeksang Arts Awards announces nominees

The prestigious 60th Baeksang Arts Awards announced its nominees on Monday, with the acclaimed Disney+ original series “Moving” dominating the nominations.

“Moving” secured seven nods, including Best Drama, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Actor for Ryu Seung-ryong. It stands alone as the only drama nominated across all three top non-acting categories.

Its closest rival in terms of the number of nominations is JTBC’s “The Good Bad Mother”, which earned four, including Best Drama, Best Screenplay, Best Actress, and Best Supporting Actress.

The coveted Best Drama award is set for a fierce showdown, with SBS’s “Revenant”, MBC’s “My Dearest”, and Netflix’s “Daily Dose of Sunshine” rounding out the contenders. Both “Revenant” and “Daily Dose of Sunshine” also compete for Best Screenplay, while “My Dearest” stars Namgoong Min and Ahn Eun-jin are in the running for Best Actor and Actress, respectively.

In a testament to the evolving landscape, streaming giants Disney+ and Netflix boast a combined 20 nominations, highlighting the growing influence of original OTT content. Of the 22 dramas nominated, eight or 36% were exclusively released on a streaming service.

Promotional poster for ‘Moving’ (Disney+)

Celebrating its Diamond Jubilee, the Baeksang Arts Awards holds the reputation as South Korea’s most prestigious entertainment awards ceremony. Since 1965, it has recognized outstanding achievements across film, television—including streaming originals—and theater.

This year’s nominations reflect productions released between April 1, 2023, and March 31, 2024, as selected by 60 industry experts. Television dramas needed to have aired at least one-third of their total number of episodes by March 31 to be eligible.

See the full list of drama nominees below:

Best Drama

Previous Year’s Winner: The Glory (Netflix)

Best Director

Previous Year’s Winner: Yoo In-shik (Extraordinary Attorney Woo)

Best Screenplay

  • Kang Full — Moving (Disney+)
  • Kim Eun-hee — Revenant (SBS)
  • Bae Se-young — The Good Bad Mother (JTBC)
  • Lee Nam-gyu, Oh Bo-hyun, Kim Da-hee — Daily Dose of Sunshine (Netflix)
  • Jeon Go-woon, Im Dae-hyung — LTNS (TVING)

Previous Year’s Winner: Park Hae-young (My Liberation Notes)

Best Actor

Previous Year’s Winner: Lee Sung-min (Reborn Rich)

Best Actress

  • Ra Mi-ran — The Good Bad Mother (JTBC)
  • Ahn Eun-jin — My Dearest (MBC)
  • Uhm Jung-hwa — Doctor Cha (JTBC)
  • Lee Ha-nee — Knight Flower (MBC)
  • Lim Ji-yeon — Lies Hidden in My Garden (ENA)

Previous Year’s Winner: Song Hye-kyo (The Glory)

Best Supporting Actor

Previous Year’s Winner: Jo Woo-jin (Narco-Saints)

Best Supporting Actress

Previous Year’s Winner: Lim Ji-yeon (The Glory)

Best New Actor

  • Kim Yo-han — A Killer Paradox (Netflix)
  • Lee Si-woo — Boyhood (Coupang Play)
  • Lee Shin-ki — The Worst of Evil (Disney+)
  • Lee Jung-ha — Moving (Disney+)
  • Lee Jong-won — Knight Flower (MBC)

Previous Year’s Winner: Moon Sang-min (Under the Queen’s Umbrella)

Best New Actress

  • Go Yoon-jung — Moving (Disney+)
  • BIBI — The Worst of Evil (Disney+)
  • Yoo Na — The Kidnapping Day (ENA)
  • Lee Yi-dam — Daily Dose of Sunshine (Netflix)
  • Lee Han-byul — Mask Girl (Netflix)

Previous Year’s Winner: Roh Yoon-seo (Crash Course in Romance)

Technical Award

  • Kim Dong Shik, Im Wan Ho (Camera) — Whales and I (non-drama)
  • Yang Hong Sam, Park Ji Won (Art) — Revenant (SBS)
  • Lee Seok Geun (Custome) — Goryeo-Khitan War (KBS2)
  • Lee Sung Kyu (VFX) — Moving (Disney+)
  • Ha Ji Hee (Art) — The Matchmakers (KBS2)

Previous Year’s Winner: Ryu Seong-hee, Art direction (Little Women)

The nominees for the Grand Prize, the highest award given to a work or individual, are traditionally not disclosed to the public. Park Eun-bin won the grand prize for TV in 2023 for her performance in “Extraordinary Attorney Woo.” Meanwhile, “Squid Game” claimed the award in 2022.

The 2024 Baeksang Arts Awards will be held on May 7 at 5 p.m. KST at Coex Hall D. The ceremony will be broadcast live on JTBC, JTBC2, and JTBC 4.

Source: Baeksang Arts Awards official website

Source link

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Keep Up to Date with the Most Important News

By pressing the Subscribe button, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use